Decemberists unveil first single, "Make You Better" from upcoming album

The announcement of a new Decemberists album came in the form of an impromptu street performance from frontman Colin Meloy in Brooklyn a week before Halloween. The only notification of the unconventional gig was a Tweet from Meloy simply stating:
"Hi NYers! I'll be the bearded and bespectacled guy at Bedford & 7th, busking new Decemberists songs. 11;30. Like, in 40 min. Come on by!"

The album, What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World will be released on January 20, 2015, and  according to Meloy, was partly inspired by the horrific elementary school shooting at Sandy Hook in 2012. The 14 track album includes the song "12/17/12" which refers to President Obama's national address regarding the Newtown tragedy. "I was hit by a sense of helplessness, but also the message of 'Hold your family close,'" Meloy said in a press release. See the full tracklist:

01 “The Singer Addresses His Audience”
02 “Cavalry Captain”
03 “Philomena”
04 “Make You Better”
05 “Lake Song”
06 “Till The Water Is All Long Gone”
07 “The Wrong Year”
08 “Carolina Low”
09 “Better Not Wake The Baby”
10 “Anti-Summersong”
11 “Easy Come, Easy Go”
12 “Mistral”
13 “12/17/12″
14 “A Beginning Song”

Now available for sale at, with your pre-order you also get some pretty sweet perks. A Masonic Banner, for one, and a free instant download of the first single "Make You Better" which you can listen to here via YouTube.

Listen / [YOUTUBE]