29 Oct 2014

Zooey Deschanel sings Dusty Springfield’s “Stay Awhile” in first release from upcoming She & Him album

Available December 2nd, “Classics” is a 13-track collection of cover songs from veritable jack-of-all-indie-trades Zooey Deschanel and master collaborator M. Ward. This marks the pairs fifth studio album under the moniker She & Him.

The first song, released today, is a subtle yet haunting cover of Dusty Springfield's "Stay Awhile" which you can check out in the youtube video below.

Deschanel's charmingly feminine vocals paired with the lo-fi live recording sound make "Stay Awhile" seem like the perfect choice for the next Tarantino film's outro song. That and the 20-piece orchestra M.Ward himself arranged. You'll find the full tracklist below:

1. Stars Fell on Alabama
2. Oh No, Not My Baby
3. It's Not For Me To Say
4. Stay Awhile
5. This Girl's in Love With You
6. Time After Time
7. She
8. Teach Me Tonight
9. It's Always You
10. Unchained Melody
11. I'll Never Be Free
12. Would You Like to Take a Walk?
13. We'll Meet Again